

# **County of Santa Cruz**

#### **COMMISSION ON THE ENVIRONMENT**

701 OCEAN STREET, ROOM 330, SANTA CRUZ, CA 95060-4073 (831) 454-2210 FAX: (831) 454-2710 TDD: (831) 454-2123

#### **MINUTES**

Regular Meeting – December 5, 2012 at 5 p.m.
Board of Supervisors Chambers, 701 Ocean Street, Fifth Floor

#### I. Roll Call/Call to Order

Meeting called to order at 5:04 p.m.

Present: Haifley; Herbert; Pepping; Sarris; Culbertson; Clark; Johnson; Adelman; and

Kasa.

**Excused Absences: Ketley** 

## II. Additions/Changes to Agenda

## III. Approval of Minutes – July 25, 2012

Approved minutes of July 25, 2012

Motion: Haifley Second: Culbertson

Ayes: Haifley; Sarris; Culbertson; Clark; Kasa; Johnson; Adelman;

Pepping and Herbert.

Absent: Ketley

## IV. Public Input/Oral Communications

#### V. Business Matters

- A. Presentation and Q&A: Community Choice Aggregation (Shawn Marshall) Fourteen members of public spoke during oral communications on this item.
- B. Report possible expansion of County bag ordinance (Kasa)
- C. Update on Climate Action Teams workshop (Pepping)

## D. Cap and trade discussions – DPW staff

Approved motion to support the Board of Supervisors resolution as presented in the draft DPW report, with the addition that COE felt the Cap and Trade funds could be used for both the Climate Action Strategy work and County sustainability manager position.

Motion: Culbertson, addition by Clark

Second: Haifley

Ayes: Haifley; Sarris; Culbertson; Clark; Kasa; Johnson; Pepping and

Herbert.

Absent: Ketley and Adelman

## E. Updates from Commissioners

- (1) Climate Action Compact Working Group (Johnson)
- (2) Green Building Task Force (Sarris)

- (3) AMBAG Sustainable Communities, Regional Advisory Committee (Johnson)
- (4) Community Choice Aggregation (Clark/Johnson)
- (5) CaliforniaFIRST (Clark)

## E. Legislative recommendations

## F. Set next agenda

## G. Approve 2013 meeting schedule

Approved 2013 schedule as proposed

Motion: Haifley Second: Pepping

Ayes: Haifley; Sarris; Culbertson; Clark; Kasa; Johnson; Pepping and

Herbert.

Absent: Ketley and Adelman

## H. Set next agenda

#### I. Announcements

VI. Adjournment - adjourned at 7:38 p.m. Next regular meeting is January 23, 2013. (Note: motions to extend meeting time were made twice and approved by consensus during meeting to go beyond usual 7 pm ending time)